Dear Mom – Happy Birthday

Dear Mom,

When I was in grade school one of the perennial games my classmates would play was “Who is”; Who is the most handsome man in the world? Who is the funniest person in the world? Who is the fastest person in the world?

Sometimes the Guinness Book of World Records was consulted. Sometimes there was hearty debate.

I wasn’t able to contribute very much to these conversations. My working knowledge of movie stars were all from the black-and-white era (thank you Mom and AMC). None of my classmates knew who Cary Grant or Shirley Temple were! No culture…

Regardless, I always had an answer to one question, “Who is the most beautiful woman in the world?” Every year they asked this question, every year – from first through sixth grade – I gave it careful consideration, and every year I had the same answer: my mom.

I looked at movie stars and carefully consulted magazines. But none of them smiled through their eyes like my mom. Certainly that was beauty. I looked at the prettiest girls in my school, but none of them lit up a room like my mom. What could be more beautiful? I looked at the faces of other people when my mom smiled and saw their faces light up too. That’s a beauty superpower!

I looked everywhere until every year I was very sure; The most beautiful person in the world was  – and still is – my mom.

So, Mom, on your birthday we have lots of gifts and surprises for you. But, really, I just want to let you know how lucky I feel that I got to grow up with the most beautiful woman in the world.

Beautiful!

Beautiful!

I love you 🙂

Categories: Kids | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Dear Mom – Happy Birthday

  1. Mary Jones

    Meg, I am humbled by your love for me.Thank you, Darling Daughter II. Mom

  2. I wanted to say make sure your mom reads this but I guess she was super quick… 🙂
    Happy birthday Mary!

  3. Ceil Fessler

    Awesome Meg. And, I agree, Mary is beautiful. Happy Birthday to my little sister, Mary. I wish I were there to help you in the celebration. You are in my thoughts and prayers!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

