Fun with Kids – Apple Pie Filling

Apple Pie Filling

We went apple picking recently and now I have a kitchen full of apples! I knew I wanted to make an apple pie…or three, so I needed a good apple pie filling recipe. There were a lot of recipes for fillings that I find dry; I like my filling moist and oozy. They only recipes like that were for canning and freezing apple filling recipes. So, I improvised!

Here is my recipe. It was fantastic! I loved it and I got a lot of really nice compliments on it.

Ingredients
2 cups water
1 cup sugar
2.5 tbs corn starch
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg (I didn’t actually have this, so I just added a little more cinnamon. It tasted good without it, but I imagine it would be even better with it)
1/2 tsp salt
3-4 cups apples (whatever looks right)

Peel, cut and core your apples. If you have a handy-dandy peeler/cutter/corer you are made in the shade! I just got one and they are so awesome – my life has changed. Cut your apples to taste. I cut my apples into bite-sized pieces because I find the pie is easier to eat that way.

wpid-20130929_125854.jpg

Add 2 cups of water to a large pot on medium heat. While it is heating, add the sugar, corn starch, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt. Bring to a boil. Boil for 2 minutes stirring constantly (I used child labor).

wpid-20130929_124038.jpg

Add your apples. I added apples until it looked like the consistency I wanted in my pie. You could add a bunch more if you don’t like your pie as runny as I do.

wpid-20130929_125724.jpg

Bring the concoction to a boil then reduce the heat and simmer until the apples are tender (about 6-8 minutes). Cool for 30 minutes before adding to your unbaked pie crust.

579130_338964736247750_557067355_n

I made a homemade pie crust from Crisco (recipe on the can) and these babies were beautiful! The recipe doubles quite nicely. The other good-looking fellow on the counter is an apple crumble. Can you believe after all that I still have apples left??

 

If you liked this post, you might also like: Beary Pie Filling

Categories: Crafts, Kids | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Fun with Kids – Apple Pie Filling

  1. Sam

    That slicer dicer is great for dried apple rings too. If you don,t have a dehydrator, you can put them in the oven on super low for a couple hours

  2. Pingback: Fun with Kids – Beary Pie | Dear Crazy Kids,

  3. Pingback: Hay Balls | Dear Crazy Kids,

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

