Dear Kids – Chucking Candy

Dear Kids,

Remember the Legend of the Almond? Well, when I found out that I was pregnant with Kitten – an “almond baby” – I knew exactly how I wanted to tell your father the news. When he came home from work I greeted him at the door and tossed him an Almond Joy with a glint in my eye.

“Why are you throwing candy at me? Why are you looking at me like that?” And he put the candy on the table and went to change his clothes. Harrumph! I followed him.

“Really? You don’t get it? An Almond Joy…Nothing?” I thought that was pretty clever! Turns out he didn’t need clever – he needed hitting over the head.

So, I went and got the pee stick with the little ‘plus’ sign and showed it to him.

“What is that? What am I looking at here? What are you trying to say?”  Seriously??

“Babe, I’m pregnant!”

“Really? Wow! Why didn’t you just say so?” Ugh. So much for cleverness.

So, two years later when I found out that I was pregnant with Buddy, I didn’t have a ‘Mounds’ candy bar on me (he wasn’t an “almond baby” – get it?). What I did have was an old KitKat in the freezer. I got it out, found your father outside working in the yard, and chucked it at him. He was not amused that I had interrupted his work to pelt him with sugary snacks.

“Why would you think I’d want candy right now?”

“You wouldn’t. It’s just what I do.”

“You’re pregnant??” Bingo!

Our Almond Joy kissing the future Mounds.

Our Almond Joy kissing the future Mounds.

Categories: Kids | Tags: , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Dear Kids – Chucking Candy

  1. Ceil Fessler

    I love this story! It’s funny and romantic at the same time.

  2. So you are some kind of sugar mama? HAHA
    Cute story as always!
    xoxo, Eszter

  3. haha, I love “its just what I do”. that’s great! my husband doesn’t always get my clever either. I find myself saying, “that was funny..” when he stares at me after a clever joke 🙂

  4. Pingback: Dear Kitten – A Star Is Born | Dear Crazy Kids,

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

