The Lighthouse Award

The Lighthouse Award

I was recently honored with receiving The Lighthouse Award from Samantha at farmfarthing. She’s hilarious – go check her out!

This award was founded by blogger CoachMuller, who “decided to make an award to recognize the people who have created beautiful, heartwarming, and inspirational blogs. Their blogs bring us happiness, enlighten our hearts, and bring a little joy to our lives when we visit their pages. The work that these people have done has truly given us rays of light in a gloomy world.”

…Wow. Talk about flattered!!

Here are the rules:

  1. Display the Award certificate on your blog.
  2. Write a post and link back to the blogger that nominated you.
  3. Inform your nominees of their award nominations
  4. Share three ways that you like to help other people.
  5. There is no limit to the number of people that you can nominate.
  6.  HAVE FUN!!

Ok, so three ways that I like to help other people…This is tough for a person who is not shy about her laziness. Additionally, I alternately hate and love the human race simultaneously throughout the day; All people are good. All people are stupid. It’s a deep internal struggle often decided based on the amount of chocolate in my vicinity.

So, how do I like to help people? I donate clothing…because I want it out of my house. I contribute to 3-day breast cancer walks…so I don’t feel guilty for not personally walking. I sign birthday cards at work…most of the time. I work for a non-profit organization…because I like paychecks and federal holidays.

When you look at yourself and try to see how you are serving humanity for the better, it can be hard to come up with anything. Is humanity really better because I posted 3 helpful hints on Pinterest this week? Probably not. Is humanity better because I sat up with a girlfriend in the wee hours of the morning while she wrestled with letting her 6 month old cry-it-out? Maybe a tiny bit. Is humanity better because I spent high school summers rebuilding houses? Probably. Is humanity better because I’m trying every day to make a connection to other moms and dads and share a smile, a story, a bit of my experience? To let them know we all feel happy, scared, frustrated, and delirious every day and that’s great – that’s parenting? I hope so.

Without further ado (please, no more ado!), here are my nominees; Mommas and women that inspire me with their dedication, perspiration, and animation:

  1. The Adventures of Fanny P.
  2. Dramatic Momologue
  3. Dear #$&!% Baby
  4. Solo Mama

Thanks, Ladies! You help make this journey fun 🙂

The Lighthouse Award

The Lighthouse Award

Categories: Kids | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “The Lighthouse Award

  1. That was lovely! I found it very hard and a little odd to say the least, trying to write about what ‘good’ I do but I loved your answers xx

  2. Terri Boris

    CONGRATULATIONS, Meg! Well deserved.

  3. Wooohooo, thank you! You made this mama blogger’s day!

  4. Congratulations! All of the blogs you mention are new to me and sound right up my alley. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

