Mommy and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Morning

Dear Kids,

It was a less than stellar morning for Mommy. The upside is that it had nothing to do with you. You guys were pretty good this morning. Nope, this one was just me and Murphy’s Law, arm-in-arm.

We woke up late. Surprise. But it was one of those simply-can’t-drag-yourself-out-of-bed mornings too. I’m still wishing I’d stayed.

When I sat up in bed I knew I was in for an uphill climb of a morning. I already wanted to throttle someone. How can a person be in such a bad mood when they’ve been awake so little? Grin and bear it, sweetheart.

I also had a headache. I knew from the night before when I took the very last pain-relieving pill in the house, that we were out of such things. Sigh.

The rest of the morning was fairly standard; accidentally grabbing the wet diaper by the wet part, missing the trashcan 3 times with a tissue, getting all clothing choices rejected by a five year-old. And then the non-standard parts that come with having a kitchen under construction; opening an empty cabinet 3 times looking for the same thing, trying to put something down in a room with no counters, looking for the fruit bowl which now resides – obviously – in the den.

I managed to get out the door and committed myself to stopping at 7-Eleven for coffee, a snack, and some pain-relievers. I walked out with my treasures and felt better. Until I parked at work and realized that I hadn’t gotten any pain-relievers.

I rode up in the elevator berating myself for my forgetfulness. Then I rode back down to the parking garage to retrieve the coffee I’d left in the car.

Back up in my office I raided the cupboards for a pain-reliever and, mercifully, found one. It had a shallow layer of dust and about ten thousand warnings telling me not to hold the bottle, much less ingest the contents, but I threw caution to the wind and popped one back anyhow. hallucinations can really only improve this morning, right?

The only reason I dragged my butt in to the office anyhow (besides their persistence in paying me to do so), is to babysit our local pregnant lady. She is a friend of mine, sits next to me, and is about to pop at any second. It is my job to watch her like a hawk and swoop in if she shows any sign she might produce a baby within our beige walls. Everyone is terrified she might call on them to help catch the thing. Apparently no one in the office has ever had a sex-ed class. Or a baby.

I weep for our education systems.

Anyhow, here I sit. Performing my duties. Smiling. Keeping the grumpy gremlin inside me at bay. Silently willing everyone in my vicinity to not speak for the next 8 hours. Here goes…

Categories: Kids | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Mommy and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Morning

  1. Good luck with that missus! 🙂 I hope things pick up for you xx

  2. It’s the time change. I just can’t get used to it this time. I can’t get up, I can’t go to bed. The kids are fine, they just take for granted that When I tell them the time, that’s the time. BUT IT”S NOT.

  3. I totally blame the time change. Life was better/easier a week ago.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

