When the Cat’s Away the Mice Will…Starve

Dear Kids,

Recently your father went out of town for five days. We had five days just you two and me. I don’t know exactly what happened, but some sort of ‘uber mommy’ switch was thrown when faced with sole domestic responsibility for several days.

In those five days I did five loads of laundry, cleaned the floors, redecorated a bathroom, assembled a toy bin shelf, baked, reorganized the playroom, hung a shelf above the bar, created a craft closet, baked more, hung some pictures in my bedroom, touched up the paint on our staircase, and – oh ya – got you kids to bed every night 1.5 hours early (read: on time).

Boo-ya!

It felt amazing! For a hot second I thought I was really crushing this single-mommy thing. But then I realized…

I forgot to feed the children breakfast almost every single morning – to be fair, so did you guys. We ate mac-n-cheese for dinner almost every night. While I was rocking my mad home renovation skills, you guys were rocking your 15th episode of Jake and the Neverland Pirates. Boo.

So, it turns out I’m not Super Mom. It turns out I’m just a regular mom. Thankfully, you guys think I’m pretty super anyway…and you really like mac-n-cheese 😉

Categories: Kids | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “When the Cat’s Away the Mice Will…Starve

  1. Noni cheese. Those little cups have saved my life on numerous occasions. And here’s a tip: order some old school sesame street and electric company. You feel far less guilty when they’re watching the same seventies educational programming that we watched.
    I don’t know why… but it’s true. Try it.

  2. You’re just too darn cute! Your kids will treasure this blog when they are parents. Cheers!

  3. I laughed a little. Sounds like something I would do (the forgetting to feed the kids breakfast, not the super mommy stuff!).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

