Relax – Ouch! – ation…

Dear Kids,

After a very long day of yardwork and parenting, I was gifted with a whole, solid hour alone in the house by your amazing father. Before you all left the driveway I was already running the bathwater.

Here’s the problem: the master bathroom doesn’t have a bathtub. This means I was relegated to using the bathtub in your bathroom; your bright yellow, toothpaste-laden, potty training home base of a bathroom. Nothing screams ‘spa’ like a Disney character on every bottle and tube in the room.

Not to be deterred, I filled the tub with hot water. Then let half of it out and filled it again. And again. Only to discover that the hot water had been set to ‘tepid’ in an effort to not boil the children. This surprised me considering Kitten consistently reacts to the bathwater like we are trying to sear off her top layer of dermis. Light weight.

I, however, like temperatures suitable for preparing lobsters. I got the water as close as I could get and then loaded it with Epsom salts for a nice, rejuvenating soak.

I got in the tub and immediately realized that the children have falsely advertised the size of this tub. With two of them in here they still look like they could swim laps! Why are my knees in my chest??

I leaned my head and shoulders back and was immediately met with resistance in the form of a large bag full of bath toys suctioned cupped behind my head. Attempts to use it as some sort of bath pillow were unproductive and somewhat stabby.

Rather than remove the bag and risk never being able to get it back up there (suction cups either hold for 12 years or 12 seconds, in a system I believe is based on Karma and the caprice of suction cups), I craned my head to the right and pretended I was comfortable.

And, for about 15 blissful seconds, I was.

Followed immediately by an avalanche of plastic toys…on top of my head. Stupid suction cups.

I pressed on.

I laid in 6 inches of tepid water, as 10 of my closest plastic friends floated around me, in a bright yellow bathroom that would make the 70s blush. And you know what? It felt great 🙂

Categories: Kids | Tags: , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Relax – Ouch! – ation…

  1. Mary Jones

    Well done, Meg. Thank you to Jeremy for this interlude ;0)

  2. Ceil Fessler

    Good for you Meg. You deserve the “down time” and I’m sorry it wasn’t more luxurious. See you soon.

  3. Life is what you make it. Cold, stabby life. Next time try some candles and turn the lights off.

  4. Bart Jones

    One of your funniest.

  5. Haha! Oh goodness. Yes, it does sound good, though.

    What is it with kids wanting cold baths all the time?

  6. This made me laugh out loud. Definitely one of your best!

  7. Thanks for making me laugh. I needed it. If my kids ever decide to be asleep, really asleep, I may attempt to follow your lead – minus the plastic friends, I hope! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

