The Mother of Invention

Dear Buddy,

Having never been or raised a boy before, I was surprised by a few of the…mechanics of male toileting. Namely the devil that is that large gap in between the toilet bowl and the seat.

Buddy, you can now sit or stand as you choose, but it is sometimes necessary for a boy to sit. On these occasions, when you pee it shoots straight through the aforementioned gap and covers the unlucky bathroom floor with a veritable lake of urine.

I seriously thought the toilet bowl had sprung a giant leak the first time I witnessed this. I just stood there screaming, “what’s happening?? How is this happening??” Until your father walked up, nodded and said, “yup, that’ll happen.”

What?? Ew!!

There is obviously a large flaw in toilet design that has gone unchecked since the invention of the toilet seat. Since necessity is the mother of invention, I give you…the pee guard toilet retrofit:

image

image

It’s stupid simple (like all my DIY). It is a piece of plastic cut from a milk jug and super glued to the inside of the seat. It is low enough not to scratch sensitive bums and does not interfere with uppy-downy seat action. It’s brilliant and it totally works! Woo hoo for not having to sop up anymore pee!

UPDATE: Ya, that lasted less than 48 hours. Buddy pulled it off while standing to pee and the guard was just hanging there, apparently begging to be played with. My husband took a stab at the situation and simply pulled off the front two cushion thingys on the bottom of the seat, which effectively eliminated the gap. It totally works…for a whole week now. Touché, male counterpart…you win this round…

Categories: Buddy, DIY, Kids | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The Mother of Invention

  1. Aw I thought that was a fantastic idea! xx

  2. I thought this was brilliant! I am searching for DIY splash guard ideas, we have the over and under leak problems. I haven’t been able to figure out how to teach him to aim it down into the toilet and he is too little to stand and aim. Maybe box tape would secure it?

    • I was actually thinking that really strong double sided tape for Command hooks would work and not ruin the toilet like super glue did. Let me know!

      • Sorry for the double comment! I was having log in issues. I definitely can’t ruin the seat, I don’t own it. I will let you know if I come up with something.

  3. Do you think maybe box tape would work? I really need a diy option for this but also need the over the seat protection too. I have not managed to teach my toddler to aim into the toilet and he is too small to stand and aim.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

