Sunday! Sunday! Sunday! We’ll Give You the Whole Seat, but You’ll Only Need the EDGE!

Dear Kids,

So, last Sunday was…interesting.

It started at 4:30 am when Buddy woke up with a bad cough (yay, allergies!) and then every half hour after that he just sort of wandered out of his room for no apparent reason (“It morning?” No!!). He was up for good at 8:00 and down for a nap a mere three hours later at 11:00 – not surprising. I wish I could have joined him.

Next, Kitten and I saddled up to find a birthday party in a part of town I’ve never been to – this never goes well. I can’t find my shoes without a map and then I’ll still read the map wrong. I can get lost in my own neighborhood – it’s terrible. So, of course, we got a little turned around. I drove in to an empty street to make a U-turn and – BAM! – got T-boned by a red tank of a sedan  trying to pass me on the left where there was no left lane. Ugh.

This was the first accident I’ve ever been in with a kid in the car. It was decidedly unnerving. The gal – a young woman of college-age driving her grandmother’s hand-me-down sedan/boat – came out of her car already apologizing. I just put up my hand and said, “Kid.” I went around to Kitten’s door and checked her up and down – no damage. Amen.

Next, I looked Young Thing up and down and assessed her to be…scared to death. That helped.

My car was not as lucky as hers. Her sedan/tank/boat had some scratches on the headlights. My van had a big ‘ol dent in the passenger’s door. It still slides, but the automatic close (much coveted!!) doesn’t work anymore (sigh). However, it gives a sort of symmetry to the big ‘ol dent in the back door and the two foot scrape along the other side of the car. If my van wasn’t a beater before, it is officially one now (sigh again).

We exchanged info, shook hands, and went our separate ways.

Birthday party time. You know what breaks the ice at a kid’s birthday party where you only know one other parent? Walking up and saying you’ve just been in a car accident. Great conversation starter! Silver linings, right?

I hit it off really well with this other mom and we chatted all the way around the mini-golf course watching our girls hack at colorful golf balls on plastic grass. It was a good time had by all 🙂

At the end of the party, the other mom gave me her phone number so we could hang out – Eee! I got digits, y’all!

After all that I thought maybe I could get off the roller coaster, but I had one more thing on my ‘to-do’ list: take the cat in for his first visit to the vet.

The vet was an hour behind schedule. Ugh. When we finally got in to the exam room, Kitten announced that she had to go to the bathroom at the exact time the doctor entered the room. Of course. Not wanting to lose my grip on the elusive doctor, I stood in the hallway outside of the exam room where I could both speak with the doctor and watch Kitten enter the bathroom at the other end of the hall, all on her own.

There is an unusual amount of anxiety to letting your kid use a public restroom by themselves for the first time. There were moments – loooooong moments – when I couldn’t see her and that freaked me out. I audibly let out the breath I was holding when she skipped back down the hallway, very proud of herself.

The visit continued. The cat has fleas. Gross, but not unusual for a recently adopted cat. We got a pill to fire-bomb the current pests and a prescription for long-term prevention. Then of course, there was the rash…

The cat had come to us with a little rough patch of skin right under his ear. I didn’t think much of it until Sunday morning when I noticed a big patch above his eye and another on his other ear. Yuck! The doc said it’s most likely an allergic reaction to the fleas (wheh!), but it could also be ringworm (ewewewew).

Since she said the word ‘ringworm’, my skin has not stopped crawling. I have quarantined the cat and started cleaning and treating his rash sites daily. He doesn’t like this, but I don’t care. He is unclean!

In all honesty, I would be really surprised if it was actually ringworm. Ringworm is contagious and the dog has been licking him head-to-toe (particularly on the head) for two weeks and has no signs of it. Buddy – who catches all skin-related diseases – is surprisingly clear-skinned recently. It’s almost certainly not ringworm.

BUT she said those words and now…now I can’t touch the cat until the rash is gone. No one is allowed near the cat! Even if we did just officially named him: Kit-Kat…at least for this week.

Categories: Buddy, Cat, Kids, Kitten | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Sunday! Sunday! Sunday! We’ll Give You the Whole Seat, but You’ll Only Need the EDGE!

  1. Just out of curiosity, is the cat white or does it have white patches??

    I ask because Hubbell developed allergic dermatitis on the white bits in his fur and that was down to flea bites. My vet said it affects white haired animals the most xx

    • The cat is black and white (mostly black). The bits where the allergic reaction to the fleas are happening are on the black parts, actually. I have been treating the spots and they seem to be doing much better and shrinking – yay!

  2. Ceil Fessler

    Out of all that, I’m so glad you and Kitten are OK. Car accidents are never good, no matter how minor. They’re a pain in the *** at the very least. Kit Kat is a good name. Now we’ll see if he keeps it! I love you all!

  3. Funny post, sorry about the fleas, car accident and possible ringworm. Don’t worry about the ringworm, though, I’ve had it a million times and just go to the pharmacy and buy some athletes foot cure. Easy peasy.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

