Bloom Where You’re Planted…But Take Your Time

Dear Kids,

As a parent, I dread two things: potty training and puberty. We – somehow – survived potty training, although not entirely unscathed. Which leaves…puberty ::shudder::

I was a late bloomer. I was almost in high school by the time I got my period and I didn’t have measureable cleavage until college.

Your father was a later bloomer. I’m less familiar with how this is measured in boys, but probably something to do with shaving and dropping an octave.

I’m kind of hoping all this late blooming compounds on you two. With any luck you won’t hit puberty until you’ve moved out.

A mom can dream, right?

Update: too late. Kitten got her first lose tooth two days ago and when we looked she had all four of her adult molars coming in. It begins…

image

Categories: Kids | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Bloom Where You’re Planted…But Take Your Time

  1. We’re at the dropping on octave stage, but I remember those adult molars coming in like it was yesterday – it goes by too fast!

  2. Terri

    Hmmm. Does growing those molars indicate the onset of puberty?

  3. Oh god no, not the dreaded puberty. Boarding school? Only kidding…maybe.

  4. I can’t imagine her walking much less starting her period… O_O

  5. Um is she eating a tomato? I wish my kids would eat tomatoes …

  6. I can’t even think about this yet. I have kindergarten staring me in the face, plus one more potty-training round to go. My liver will have to heal from all the wine I’ll need to consider puberty.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

