Move Over Alex Ovechkin, or No Rest for the Toothless

Dear Kitten,
 
You lost your tooth! Hallelujah!
 

image

You were standing right next to me as your Mimi and I chatted away. Then I hear a little gasp. When I turned toward you, you had a look of complete shock on your face and were holding a tiny, tiny tooth in your fingers.
 
Cue the shouts of joy!
 
Talk about hoopla! We screamed, we hugged, we jumped! It was out!
 
You ran to show your Dad, then your brother, than Mimi and me again. You said, “I look like Alex Ovechkin now!”
 

image

 
You look even better, if I may say so 😉
 
That night you put your little tooth (seriously, I’ve seen grains of rice bigger than this thing) into the tooth cup that I handed down to you from when I was a kid. You put it on your dresser and went to sleep.
 
Which is when the real work began.
 
A coin was procured. We found a Sacagawea dollar coin that had been part of a wedding gift from my Uncle Joe. It seemed appropriate that the coins should continue to mark our family’s milestones. Luckily, there are several of them, so we should be able to keep dollar coins going for at least a little while. I shined one up in some baking soda and vinegar and we were good to go. Except…
 
Your father and I couldn’t agree on how this was supposed to go down. When I was a kid we didn’t do teeth under the pillow. We were too afraid it would get lost during the night. So, my sister and I started making ‘tooth fairy shrines’ outside of our bedroom door.
 
At first it was just an upside-down laundry basket with a note for the tooth fairy. Then they started to get a little elaborate. There were table cloths, a little tooth dais, decorations, and – if you could find it amongst everything else – an actual tooth.
 
I thought the tooth cup was a pretty good ‘scale back’ from this. Your father disagreed. He’s a purist. The tooth goes under the pillow and gets swapped out for a coin. Stealth is involved. And risk. The tooth fairy of his dreams is part ninja I think.
 
In the end, we compromised. The tooth went in the cup on the dresser, but the coin would appear under the pillow.
 
In the morning, Kitten, you woke up and burst in to our room to show us your tooth fairy bounty. “Momma! The tooth fairy left me a really big nickel!” Oh, right. She’s never seen a coin like that before.
 
“Sweetie, that’s a dollar coin. How cool! You don’t see those very often.”
 

image

 
As you were basking in the glow of your exciting moment, your father and I leaned over you menacingly and asked, “So…how’s that other tooth coming?”
 
No rest for the toothless.

Categories: Kids, Kitten | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Move Over Alex Ovechkin, or No Rest for the Toothless

  1. I’ve started thinking about this topic, as soon we’ll have to dust off our fairy wings. Love the idea of a shrine!!! My kids are such poor sleepers, I’ve been stressing about digging around under their pillows!

  2. Our oldest lost her first tooth on Christmas morning and the second four days later. I totally feel your pain as she was determined that they would fall out completely on their own. It took weeks!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

