Of Death and Karate

Dear Kids,

Yesterday evening my Aunt Ceil passed away after a short battle with lung cancer. I sat you both down on my lap to let you know.

“Aunt Ceil just died,” I said.

“No! I love Aunt Ceil!” said Kitten.

“Oh,” said Buddy. “Her body is in heaven?”

“No, Buddy, not her body. Her body was very sick and it died, but her soul will live forever in heaven and in our hearts.”

Silence.

“Do you guys know what a soul is?” I asked.

Heads shaking.

“A soul is…” Huh. What is it? “A soul is a person’s personality, all of their experiences, and all of the love that they filled their heart with while they were alive.”

“Is it there brain?” Kitten asked. “Is it their heart?” touches her chest.

“It’s not their brain, but it is their thoughts. It’s not their heart, but it is their love. It’s the stuff that you can’t touch. It’s the stuff that lives forever, especially when we remember the people that have died. Don’t you carry Grandma Margaret in your heart?” Nodding. “Well, now we carry Aunt Ceil in our hearts too.”

“I want to die too!” shouts an overly enthusiastic Buddy.

“No, Buddy, you’re not ready yet. You have a lot of living to do. When we’re alive we have to fill our hearts with love. Living teaches our hearts a lot about love. Your hearts still have a lot to learn.”

Buddy jumps up. “My heart is learning karate! Hi-yah!”

🙂 Good talk. Heads up, Aunt Ceil. Buddy’s soul knows karate.

image

Aunt Ceil ♡

Categories: Buddy, Kids | Tags: , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Of Death and Karate

  1. Chris Comer

    So Lovely, Meg! Sending you lots of extra lovings and comfort.

    Chris

  2. I’m so sorry for your loss. *hugs*

  3. Karate heart. Love that!! Your aunt would no doubt be proud. Sorry for your loss.

  4. Paula Slavens

    What a sweet story and wonderful memory

  5. Goodness you handled that well. I want you in my house for the tough conversations, too! I’m sorry for your family’s loss. I hope you find some comfort in remembering all the love that was shared with Aunt Ceil. ❤

    • It was so strange, Lindsay. I was so sad before she died and then when she did, I just felt so calm and then happy. Like bouncy. I can’t help but think it’s her 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

