23andMe Results

Dear Kids,

This is a follow-up post to 23andMe. Back in December Daddy and I spit in to little tubes and sent our DNA into the great unknown for analysis. 6-8 weeks later the results are in! Here is the good, bad, and the bizarre of what my DNA told me:

The Good
– No elevated risk of pancreatic cancer (Yay!)
– No elevated risk of melanoma (Super yay! My grandfather died of this)
– No elevated risk for Glaucoma (I guess I’ll have to think of another way to get my medicinal pot – harhar)
– I am genetically inclined to be taller than average (Me Amazon!)
– Elevated risk of…FRECKLES! (Duh.)
– Reduced risk of atrial fibrilation
– Reduced risk of alzheimer’s (WooHoo!)
– Reduced risk of Depression (Shiny, happy people everywhere!)
– Increased production of HDL (The good cholesterol)
– Both your father and I are Duffy-positive. This means we are malaria resistant (and since both of us are, so are you two. You’re welcome.)
– Your father also found out that he is naturally resistant to not only malaria, but tuberculosis, pneumonia, and strep (Lucky dog…)

The Bad
– Significant risk of breast cancer (Guess I need to keep an eye on the ol’ girls. Daddy said he’d help, isn’t that nice?)
– Risk of age-related macular degeneration (Boo. More carrots for me.)
– Significant risk of developing Type 2 Diabetes (Super boo. Whatever, I’m still eating that box of Hot Tamales I just bought)
– Risk of developing crohn’s disease (Joy.)
– Caffeine sensitivity (Legit.)
– I have lower levels of vitamin D (I knew it. The sun hates me.)

The Bizarre
(Background: From all of my genealogy research I can confirm that I cam significantly German, English, and Irish. Possibly a skosh Swiss. So, you’ll understand why the following was surprising)

– I am 0.1% Mongolian (What the what?)
– I am 0.1% North African (BET, here I come!)
– I am 4.9% Ashkenazi Jew (This just validates how much I use ‘Oy’.)
– I have poor short term memory (Seriously – there were three genes pointing to this! I think I need a t-shirt that says ‘hi!’ on the front and ‘I don’t remember you’ on the back.)
– I have good long term memory (…but I will remember you in detail ten years from now.)
– I am 7x less likely to respond to certain antidepressants (Well then, it’s a good thing I’m not genetically prone to depression!)
– I have a gene that says I have increased creativity (Who was looking for that??)
– I am a red-head carrier (Duh.)
– I am genetically inclined to NOT learn from my mistakes the first time (Your father is having a good time with this one.)
– I am genetically inclined to have less empathy (I would argue with this, but who cares…)
– There is a gene called the worrier/warrior gene. It’s similar to the flight/fight response. I am a ‘worrier’/flight. Your father is a warrior/fight. (Not one of my prouder genetic moments, but there it is.)
– I am genetically inclined to birth large babies (Great. It was my fault after all.)
– I have better body odor than average (it should be noted that this information was provided with the words: you should still use deodorant. I can’t decide if the program is being a smart ass or providing a public service.)

So, that’s it! I’ve also been using the program to track down some relatives and attempt to solve a family mystery. I’ll let you know if we make any headroom on that. Until then, it’s all fun and games until someone finds out they stink – on the genetic level.

Categories: Kids | Tags: , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “23andMe Results

  1. I should note that 23andme no longer provides health reports or interpretations of your DNA beyond the ancestral component. There are, however many programs that will help you interpret your raw DNA (which 23andme does give you). I used Promethease and intend to check out a few others that have been recommended to me. Happy hunting!

  2. Ceil Fessler

    Pretty interesting Meg. Mom had macular degeneration, so I’m not surprised it showed up on the test. I wonder if these things skip a generation?

    • Well, until you dig in to your genes, it’s hard to say. You can either have it, not have it, or be a carrier. Fun stuff!

    • Also, rheumatoid arthritis showed up a few times, but not as much as I thought it would considering the family history with arthritis.

  3. Terri Boris

    Wow. Fascinating. Since we’re related, at least some of that may be in my genes too. How much did the DNA test cost?

  4. I would argue with this, but who cares 🙂 .

    Some of those findings are bizarre. I don’t know how they even determine someone’s % of Mongolian??

    • They use common genetic markers. I’m still overwhelmingly British, Irish, and German, but it’s nice to know that I’m well-rounded 🙂

  5. That was pretty interesting to read. Did they really find a good-smelling gene in you? Hehehe…

  6. Pingback: How a Wiki Is Keeping Direct-to-Consumer Genetics Alive | I Want to Know How

  7. Pingback: How a Wiki Is Keeping Direct-to-Consumer Genetics AliveNotes News | Notes News

  8. Pingback: How a Wiki Is Keeping Direct-to-Consumer Genetics Alive – MIT Technology Review | Latest News Portal Info

  9. Pingback: How a Wiki Is Keeping Direct-to-Consumer Genetics Alive | 8ii.in

  10. Pingback: How a Wiki Is Keeping Direct-to-Consumer Genetics Alive | Headlines Breaking News

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.